(Never) Good Intentions

So you know those days where something just clicks and your  life is forever changed? Yea that feeling, that wonderful feeling,it happened to me today.

Yesterday night I got a wonderful invite to a Bible study group and one of the quotes that we discussed was James 4:17: “If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.” and please let me explain to you why my mind was blown. 

Lets break it down:

  • The first half of the bible verse says “Knows the good they ought to do…”
    • what does that mean you say?
    • That means that everyone knows what they have to do and they know the good that should happen
  • And then it says “and doesn’t do it [good], it is sin for them.”
    • Here is an example: You have a paper due and you know you should do it right now but you say ‘Oh, I’ll do it later’
      • No harm, no foul
      • BUTTTTTTT There is foul…..  God says that your refusal to do something good and cover it with ‘good intentions’ is actually the worst and you should stop (OK, maybe that’s not exactly what he said but you get it)

Now my take away from this was that Good intentions are actually never good and they are merely ways for us to lie to ourselves and not feel the guilt that comes with making terrible decisions. Really think about it.

  • When you lie to your friend about how what she is wearing isn’t terrible we like to soften the blow by saying: ‘I don’t want to hurt their feelings… they are my friend’ but really what you’re thinking is: ‘I don’t want to be mean…. I don’t want my friend to be mad at me.’
    • You see the problem?
    • The problem is that you actually aren’t trying to be a better person you are merely finding an excuse to the thing (that you know is bad) that you have done.

So I guess my what I took away from this wonderful Bible talk was that stop saying you have good intentions and just do GOOD things. 

Leave a Reply

